‘You Get Me’- Film Review

After spending most of the day cleaning, I was in the mood to watch something new and entertaining on Netflix. That’s when I came across ‘You Get Me’, believing it to be exactly what I needed. And well… it was something lol..

The film follows Tyler (Taylor John Smith), an attractive high school student with a troubled home life, as he finds love with the new and attractive arrival in town, Allison (Halston Sage). One night at a party, their relationship abruptly ends after an argument between the two lovebirds over her previous choice of partner. And subsequently, he rides off with Holly (Bella Throne) and they spend a whole day bonding over their shared angst and absent family members. For Tyler, that was clearly an escape from reality for him, a moment that he believes will eventually fade into a distant bittersweet memory. Thus, he rekindles his relationship with Allison and settles back into the domestic bliss of before. He soon realises that he was wrong as it becomes clear that Holly is obsessed with him and her obsession quickly becomes deadly leading to a somewhat climatic confrontation between the Holly, Tyler and Allison.

I feel like the film wanted to be this psychological thriller where the audience watch a beautiful yet seemingly ordinary girl, slowly warp into this crazed person who’s a danger to all those who stand in her way. The audience would be sitting on the edge of their seats, wondering what exactly she’d do next and whether everyone would survive.

But that didn’t happen.

Sure Holly was definitely crazy by the end and there was also a confrontation where there was a possibility of some fatalities. However, at no point in this film did I feel remotely worried for the characters. In fact, I didn’t really care about any of them at all.

Furthermore, over the course of the film, I found myself asking questions like:

  • Why didn’t Tyler just tell Allison about Holly when it became clear that she was dangerous?
  • Why didn’t he just forward those articles to the everyone he knew instead of just sending it to Holly?
  • Why did the school still suspend him, when I’m certain they knew about Holly’s problems?
  • How did Holly manage to get Allison up there at the end?
  • Why is there a gun in the same house as Holly, knowing full well the extent of her problems?

With all that in mind, I’d say that ‘You Get Me’ wasn’t a great film as it didn’t get the audience to truly engage with the characters nor did it really build up the tension and atmosphere that I think it wanted to have. If I had to give it stars, I’d say that it was a 2/5 stars. I definitely don’t think that I’ll be watching it again.

If you agree or disagree, feel free to drop a comment 🙂

One thought on “‘You Get Me’- Film Review

  1. Thanks for bringing this movie to my attention. I just checked the trailer and it looks interesting to me, not like the best movie I’ll ever see, but quite OK nonetheless. I’ve heard tons about Bella Throne but have never actually seen her act haha, so this would be a first. I’ll keep this one for a rainy day I think. Great review though, really enjoyed reading it.

    Would you be interested in sharing your work on Movie Pilot? I’d like to invite you to join the platform, and I’d love to hear from you so I can to expand on that. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail, my contact details are on my “About” page. Hopefully talk soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

