Series that Deserved Another Season

Don’t you just hate it when you begin watching a series, it gets really good and then it gets cancelled at the end of its first/second season?

This is one of the main reasons why I hate getting emotionally attached to the programs I watch. However, the welcome revelation that Sense8 was returning for a 2 hour series finale next year had me thinking of other programs I wish got the same or similar treatment. Here’s a list of them:

  • Constantine (2014-2015)

I was absolutely devastated when this series was cancelled because I thought that it was brilliant. I thought the series was dark, funny and interesting with potential to be great given time. Matt Ryan was fantastic in the flawed hero role that I have come to love. What’s more, the end of the series had a shocking revelation about who the real villain was. I was really looking foward to how it would have all played out, but I guess I’ll never know…

 

  • Star-Crossed (2014)

Star Crossed Series Logo.jpg

Star-Crossed was a CW show that I feel was misjudged based on that fact. Although, the main bulk of it was a romance between a human (Aimee Teegardan) and an alien refugee (Matt Lanter), the show was able to touch upon some really important themes particularly regarding civil and human rights. In fact, I remember the best episode being one where one of the aliens fights for the right to join the swim team. For me, the focus on civil rights in this episode made it stand out and be relevant. Also, one of the main characters was pansexual, a definite win for LGBTQ+ representation in an era where representation is desperately needed. Furthermore, this show was the prime example of the saying,

“Good things come to all who wait”.

I say this because the finale was amazing and resulted in a cliff hanger that will now remain forever unresolved. To my eternal torment!

  • Alphas (2011-2012)Image result for alphas tv show

Alphas was a brilliant sci-fi show with a fantastic premise, cool characters played by awesome actors and amazing story arcs that kept me coming back every week. It’s also another show that ended in cliffhanger that will never be resolved. And so, my torment continues…

  • Emerald City (2017)Image result for emerald city

Emerald City was a pretty decent series that re-imagined the world of Oz that we all know and love. Emerald City was a fresh take on the Wizard of Oz story that managed to be interesting, entertaining and representative too! It is a real shame that there will not be a second season as I feel like the World of Oz presented in the show had a lot more to give.

  • Agent Carter (2015-2016)Image result for agent carter

Agent Carter was a fun, action packed and entertaining show with one of best female characters in the Marvel Cinematic Universe at the helm. Hayley Atwell’s performance as Peggy was exceptional and her relationship with Jarvis (James D’Arcy) was something to be cherished. Hayley Atwell deserved better!!

 

So this is my list, if you have any more shows to add, leave a comment 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

