Castlevania Review

Having never seen or heard about the Castlevania games before, I had nothing to go on except the trailers released by Netflix. They gave me an idea of what I thought the series would be like, however, when I actually began to watch it, I was surprised. But pleasantly so!

My first big surprise from the series was how gory it was. Honestly, I’m not really that squeamish and I’m quite used to fantasy style violence however, there was one scene where a hell monster had a presumably dead baby in its mouth. As a series, I have to admit that it was pretty dark but that’s not to say that it was bad, just a little unexpected.

My second big surprise was how funny the characters were. I absolutely love all the main characters particularly Trevor Belmont (Richard Armitage). He was everything that you want in a protagonist; interesting, funny and relatable. As a result, I am looking forward to seeing him interact with the other two main characters more. This is due to the fact that this season was very much a set-up season, which saw the band come together, before taking the fight to Dracula. Dracula being another character that was different to what I expected yet, I liked him all the same and wished that we had more time with him. To be honest, for small moment at the beginning, I was Team Dracula! But I wasn’t really a fan of the whole genocide revenge plot, so I had to switch back to team Human.

My third surprise was the action sequences and how good they were. I very interested to see how action sequences are portrayed in series and films. There is this tendency to speed action sequences up so that the protagonist looks super impressive slicing through the fodder *cough* King Arthur: Legend of the Sword *cough*, but it reality, you can’t see anything and the fight looks way too easy. However, Castlevania wasn’t like that, instead, in every fight scene you could see Trevor thinking his way to victory, something that is always more entertaining for me. Also, the magic in the series was looked pretty impressive too, which is always a bonus.

If I had any complaints, it was with the overall length of the season. I began watching watching Castlevania hoping to have a nice long binge watching session of about 10 hour long episodes. Therefore, you can imagine my devastation when I realised that the series was only FOUR episodes long!! And the episodes were only 23 minutes each!! I can’t help but feel a little cheated! But with longer season 2 being commissioned, it’s smiles all around. 😀

So here you have it, my review of Castlevania on Netflix, if you want to discuss something, feel free to leave a comment.

One thought on “Castlevania Review

Leave a Reply

