To the Bone- Film Review

There was a lot of controversy surrounding this film on the subject of whether it glorified Eating Disorders. So, I wanted to watch the film and decide for myself whether the criticism it was receiving was justified- and also, I wanted to see if it was a good film. Here is what I thought:

Firstly, in my completely subjective and non-ED suffering point of view, I do not believe that ‘To the Bone’ glorifies Eating Disorders in any way. As I watched the film, I found myself confronted by the harsh realities of living with an Eating Disorder. In my opinion, the film showed the absolute harsh and brutal reality of living with an ED and how it effects those around you. In fact, as a person who doesn’t really know much about Eating Disorders, the film was extremely informative. It showed me that EDs don’t discriminate by age, race, gender, sex and sexuality. Therefore, I think it is a great example of why films that tackle this issue must be made and shown more often.

Regarding the plot, I have to say that it was nothing extradinary as nothing really happened. It basically just followed Eli/Ellen (Lily Collins) as she takes part in Dr. Beckham (Keanu Reeves) inpatient program designed to help her and people like her overcome their ED.

Without a doubt, I have to say that the film was well acted with Lily Collins and Keanu Reeves being the standout performers. Watching Lily play Ellen/Eli, I really did see the struggle of living with an ED whilst watching Keanu, I did really feel like he was this caring no nonsense doctor who wanted to see his patients get better and live.

However, one of the things that partially spoiled my enjoyment was the romance between Luke  (Alex Sharp) and Eli/Ellen. I feel like the main focus in this film should have been the Eli’s recovery not this unnecessary romance. Furthermore, I really didn’t like when he asked her to stay because he needed her. I feel like that was too much pressure to place on someone who was going through their own stuff and was clearly spiralling. In addition, the bottle feeding scene was super weird and took me out of the film a little bit. It just felt really random and out of place but maybe it just me lol.

And one last thing, I really didn’t like the bit where they lied about having cancer in order to get the waitress to serve them alcohol. (A bit random I know). I feel like that was a bit selfish as that woman could have lost her job because of it. To manipulate her in that way was not funny and not necessary.

To conclude, whilst the film tackled many important issues and tackled them well, the film itself was nothing remarkable or groundbreaking. That’s not say it was awful, so in terms of ratings I would give it 3/5 stars

So what did you think of the film? And in your opinion, does it glorify Eating Disorders? Write your thoughts in a comment ! 🙂<<<<<
t;

Leave a Reply

