Spider-Man: Homecoming Review 

From the moment I saw Tom Holland as Spider-Man in Civil War, I have been super excited for Homecoming to be released so I could finally watch it. I had high expectations for this film and I wasn't disappointed!  But before I begin my review, I will give those you haven't seen it a fair warning. There may SPOILERS ahead!

Firstly, I have to say that Tom Holland is my favourite Spider-Man to date. Honestly, as a superhero, I've never really been a fan of Spider-Man but Tom Holland has changed that. He doesn't just play Spider-Man, he is Spider-Man! He plays both the superhero and the teenage boy part of the role to perfection. His scenes with Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jnr.) were probably some of my favourite and as result, I cannot wait for Infinity War when he will almost definitely have more interactions with Tony and the rest of the Avengers. 

Other characters that I really loved in this film were The Vulture (Michael Keaton), Ned (Jacob Batalan) and Aunt May (Marisa Tomei). The Vulture is up there with Loki as one of the best Marvel Villians out there. Furthermore, the reason why the Vulture turned to crime is so relatable that you can't help but sympathise with the character. It's refreshing to see a villain that isn't villainous for villainous sake. Ned was the best, best friend that Peter could ask for and often he felt speaking on behalf of the audience. Moreover, Aunt May was so cool and funny. In fact, I love the direction they went with this character, it really worked with the whole direction of the film as a whole. Overall, the cast for this film were mostly amazing and well chosen. One of the things I loved the most was the fact that these high schoolers actually looked like they could be high schoolers in a diverse place like New York. That's rare to see and something that should be largely applauded. 

The actions sequences were great particularly the boat scene and the plane scene at the end. They were well-chereographed (if that's the right word) and clear. What's more, you could always see the Peter Parker had a plan and wasn't shooting aimlessly and winning by accident. I also loved when the suit's AI was turned on and began interacting with Peter. Karen was hilarious and I hope she's back for the next film. 

If I had to pick something to criticise, I'd have to say that I don't feel like Zendaya really needed to be in this film. That's not to say I did not like her character because she did have some funny lines. However, I feel like her contribution as Michelle (or MJ 😮😮) wasn't integral and she could have been put the next film with more of a substantial role.

Overall, this was brilliant film with superb acting, great action sequences and side splitting comedic scenes. Over the course of the movie, I laughed, I cried and I fangirled. Rating wise, it was solid 5/5 as I can't really find much fault with it. 

So what did you think of Spidey this time around? Leave your thoughts in a comment below 😊

Leave a Reply

